Caramel Corn

7 Feb

Hazel had a consequence today for shoving her brother out of the way so she could be the first to get to the basement.  We talked…again…about preferring others over ourselves.  Doesn’t God do that? Use your children to show you your own heart?  When I see my children act selfishly I’m reminded that I am the same way.

Anyway, this afternoon Hazel suggested we make caramel corn to give to her brother.  He loves caramel corn.  I think this was one of those instances where she wanted caramel corn so she suggested making it for him.  Kinda like I used to buy my sister all the CDs that I wanted too.  Okay, back to the caramel corn.  All the recipes I have call for corn syrup.  Of course we don’t have any of that in our house.  So we made some using Sucanat.

DSC_1238

Caramel Corn

Ingredients
  • 6-8 cups popped popcorn (pop it in coconut oil, of course)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup Sucanat
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
Directions

Preheat oven to 300.

Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Add sucanat and sea salt and bring to a boil.  Boil for 1 minute stirring frequently.   Be careful, it burns easily.  (Not that I burnt it or anything).

Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla and baking soda and immediately pour over popped popcorn. Stir together.

Place in 9×13 baking dish and bake for 30 minutes stirring every 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

