New Year. No Resolutions

3 Jan

The heart of man plans his way,
    but the Lord establishes his steps. -Proverbs 16:9

I like lists.  101 in 1001.  20 books to read in a year.  Bucket lists.  I’m a good initiator.  A good planner.  I’m poor at following through.

In 2014 I’d like to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight, participate in Moms on the Run, read more books, do more art projects with the kiddos.  But you know what happens when I make a list?  I rarely accomplish it.  I feel bummed.  But most importantly, I become self-focused.  I take my eyes off the One who loves me and calls me “beloved.”  

So this year instead of making a list of things to accomplish, I want to make a list of meditations on the good news of Jesus.  I want this year to be a year in which I bask in His great love for me.  This is the only thing that will transform me.  His Love.

but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
    they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
    they shall walk and not faint. -Isaiah 40:31

Leave a Reply

