This Too Shall Pass

24 Jun

Some seasons in life are more difficult than others.  Mike and I would surely say that this is one of the most difficult seasons we’re in.  To avoid complaining let’s suffice it to say that Ambrose has only slept through the night a handful of evenings since we moved last August, my dad just died unexpectedly, and there are many, many other challenges.

“This too shall pass.”

One day Ambrose will sleep peacefully and wont scream all day.  One day Mike will have a job that he enjoys that sufficiently pays for all of our needs plus the needs of others.  One day we’ll have a “proper” prayer time.  One day I’ll be able to use the bathroom without finding out that Ambrose can open the deadbolt and scale the fence to the back alley.  One day I’ll meet my Savior face to face.

But what about today?

Jesus promises an abundant life to us (John 10:10).  Do I need to wait until I have time for that?

An abundant life is not to be mistaken with the Prosperity gospel (promises of health and wealth), but one that is characterized by fullness and by the Fruit of the Spirit. By definition if we are living in abundance we are lacking nothing.  There is nothing missing in our lives.  Everyone wants this sort of contentment, but it seems elusive.   Our circumstances do not determine this sort of contentment, but our heart does.  Discontentment in the heart must first be dealt with, then we can be content in whatever circumstance we find ourselves, even the ones out of our control!  Paul says in Phillipians that he has “learned the secret of being content” Phil 4:13.

We’ve been praying for peace in our home for the better part of a year now.  All the while things have just gotten louder and more chaotic.   Sure I’d like the screaming, hitting, and hair pulling to stop.  I’d like to get a full night’s rest.  I’d like the toys to be put away.  I’d like dinner to be made without someone escaping the house and headed for the street. But this is not the type of peace I’ve been granted.   I’ve got peace in the mundane, the exhausting, and the down-right difficult.  This is a peace that surpasses understanding.  This peace only comes through fellowship with Jesus, not in trying harder.  He has told me I’m worthy and I’m more than adequate.  I am Beloved!

One Response to “This Too Shall Pass”

  1. Jeri Kedrowski August 8, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    What a beautiful reminder about the only true way to find peace, no matter what, and in any season. Thanks for writing this, Becca.

Leave a Reply

