Roasted Chickpeas

9 Apr

How does one eat 100 grams of protein in a day?  This certainly isn’t a goal of mine every day, but these days it is.  Oh right, I haven’t made an official announcement on our blog yet.   Well, here it is!  We’ll soon be going from man-on-man to zone defense.  We’re having another baby!  Baby Squirt (as Hazel affectionately calls the baby in my womb) is due to arrive sometime in October.

I’ve been terribly sick this time around.  Not puking-17-times-a-day-sick like I was with Hazel, but more along the lines of can’t-handle-the-smell-of-any-food-so-the-smell-of-anything-makes-me-puke-about-2-times-a-day.  Improvement.

This pregnancy combined with the sudden loss of my Dad is the reason for my hiatus.

Anyway, my midwife recommends the Brewer Pregnancy Diet which aims for 100 grams of protein a day.  This is hard for a girl who doesn’t want to eat and I’ve been far below the recommended 100 grams.  But I have found a great snack that I can easily sneak in 15 grams.  Roasted Chickpeas.  I used to make these a lot when we were eating a lot of beans, but have since forgotten to include them on our menu.

Here’s my favorite way to serve up a few cups of chickpeas.

Roasted Chickpeas

Ingredients
2 cans of chickpeas, drained  (I used ½ lb of cooked dried beans)
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds
 
Directions
Preheat oven to 375.  Mix drained chickpeas with oils, soy sauce, and spices.  Spread on baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Cook for ~50 minutes.  Make sure beans do not burn.  But you also want them to be crispy all the way to the inside.
4 Responses to “Roasted Chickpeas”

  1. stephanie freeman April 10, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    I love roasted chickpeas! I’m planning on making a batch tomorrow when it’s just me and Edgar hanging out for the day. So delicious & filling and easy to snack on.

  2. Leah April 30, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Yay! Congrats on your growing family. I’m of course so, so saddened to hear about the loss in your family, and after sharing with mine the grief has spread. What happened? BTW, I’m a stay at home mommy now, so it would be fun to catch up with you again!

    • Mike and Becca May 9, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

      Yes, let’s get together sometime soon! We can catch up then.

  3. Nicole March 22, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

    I made these tonight. Super yummy!

Leave a Reply

