A new reality

3 Apr

It’s been one month since I last talked to my dad.  We just said “hi” and I tried to convince him that he and Mom should move to Minnesota in a few years.  I miss my parents and would love to have them nearer.  He responded that it was too cold and too big here in the Twin Cities.  I tried to counter, but he won that argument.  It is colder and it is quite a bit bigger here than where they’re from in Wisconsin.  We just talked.  Not for long, only about ten minutes.  But I enjoyed talking to him.  His calls showed me my value.

I’m never going to talk to him again.  Not in this earthly life at least.  I miss him.  One month has been far too long to go without talking to him.  I want to talk about the weather and how spring brings so much hope and new life.  I want to talk about what his grandkids are up to.  I want to hear about what he’s planting in his garden this summer.  I want to hear about the vacation he just took with my mom, my sister and her husband.  I just want to hear his voice.

The reality is beginning to sink in.  I will never see my Dad again.

Image

Enjoying Dad’s help painting our new house. He was such a hard worker and a man who was generous with his talents!

3 Responses to “A new reality”

  1. Shannon! April 3, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    Love and prayers to you, dear friend.

  2. Leah April 3, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    I can’t imagine how you must be feeling, but always know that I love you. Always thinking of you guys.

  3. Nicole April 3, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Becca, you’ll never really get used to it. It’s been over 10 years since my dad left and I still get chills sometimes. Mourn. Sing to Jesus. Hug your kids!

Leave a Reply

