I Have a Reason to Worship

30 Jan

Whoa this morning was tough.

Ambrose hasn’t taken a real nap (one that lasts for more than 45 minutes) since Saturday, and he didn’t take one at all yesterday.  Not napping wouldn’t be such a big deal if he wasn’t so miserable when he was awake.  He roams around seeking destruction.  This morning was no different.

He was miserable.  He screamed like a banshee.  Cried like a baby.  He destroyed things.  He wanted to be held, then he wanted to be put down.  He wanted to play Hungry Hungry Hippos.  Then he wanted to throw the marbles everywhere.  He wanted to watch a movie then screamed about it.  You get the idea.

I called Mike for help.  He said he’d come home if I needed him too (what a man!).  I told him I’d give it an hour to see how things played out.

Well, things got worse.

All the crying made Hazel upset, so then both kiddos were hysterical.  I reached for my phone to call my mentor for a pep talk….or to call Mike to admit defeat.  My phone froze.  Both kiddos were just clamoring at me and I needed some space to breathe.  Where would I go?

I ran to the table, grabbed my Bible and opened it up.  The page opened to a well known verse.  Colossians 1:15-23.  We’ve spent the past year studying this beautiful book.  The Lord spoke to me about who Jesus is, what He’s done, and why it matters today.  It hit me afresh.  I am free to fail today because Jesus is victorious.  He is my identity in front of God, and only God’s opinion matters today.

I have spent this past week recording my blessings, and on a day like today I would normally have difficulty seeing anything but suffering.   But here’s what I saw today:

  • A husband who comes to my rescue
  • Mike’s job allows him the freedom to run to his wife’s side
  • Comfort from the living Word of God
  • Ambrose took a nap
  • Sweet snuggles from my sniffling children after an hour of crying
  • Quiet from my phone not ringing

All of my life

In every season,

You are still God.

I have a reason to sing.

I have a reason to worship.

Leave a Reply

