Chapter 1 – Ideals and Going Under

28 Jan

Hopefully you’ve picked up your copy of Desperate.  I started reading it and wanted to underline everything that both Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson wrote.  I feel as if they got inside my head and were able to put to words everything I’ve experienced or thought the past 4 ½ years.

Each chapter begins with a letter from Sarah Mae (the younger woman) to Sally Clarkson (the seasoned mother).  Sarah reveals her heart struggles and asks Sally for help.  Sally writes back and lovingly calls out Sarah’s false hopes and breathes truth and wisdom while pointing her back to God.   Then the chapter gives both perspectives on a certain area of motherhood.

So far I see the book reaching the hearts of any woman who has or who will ever raise a child.

Desperate

Chapter 1- Ideals and Going Under

God created motherhood.  It wasn’t Good Housekeeping or Food Network.   It wasn’t Mom Blogs or The Church.  It was God.  He is where we should turn as we create our vision and our ideals.

“God has equipped us for every good work, and I am quite confident that He who designed this role to be so eternally significant is the one who is ready to help, support, instruct, and guide.  He will provide all we need for the task He has given us to fulfill.  But to hear from God we must become women of the Word and women who pray, so that His voice may lead us as we grow into this role with grace.”  -Sally Clarkson, pg 9

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. -Isaiah 41:10

If God made you a mother and is present with you each step of the way, how should that make a difference in your role as a mom?

Leave a Reply

