Desperate Mom

9 Jan

The last two days I have posted some encouragement on Facebook to mothers in the trenches.  I have seen an overwhelming response.  My private message inbox is flooding with notes of gratitude and relief from other moms who are in the throes of motherhood.  Seriously, I’ve had over a dozen women privately message me.  I think I struck a nerve.

Beautiful Motherhood.

Beautiful Motherhood.

I cannot take credit for this.  The Lord has placed a vision on my heart for the past few months about creating an organic community of women and mothers.  Titus 2 talks of older women training and teaching the younger women to love their husbands and children.  Did you catch that?  Younger women need to be taught to love their families.  Who’s teaching you?

I used to attend a church in which the majority of the congregation was in college.  I was an older woman.  At 28 I was old.  Mike and I were asked to mentor a young newlywed couple.   Old.  Truth be told, there is a mentoring ministry there where young women can be mentored by older women.  But again, I was an older woman.  A mentor, not a mentee.

Anyway, a little over a year ago I felt like no one else was struggling like I was. I felt so isolated.  I had a difficult baby, I felt pressure to already expand my family, and I felt inferior to my friends who “had it together.”   I had a wonderfully, supportive husband, but he was under pressure too.  I reached out for help within our church, but no one knew how to help other than to pray for me.

I never, ever want another mom to feel like I did. There is light at the end of the tunnel, and I see it.   I’m sad we only share our Kumbaya moments on facebook and Pinterest.  I don’t want to glorify the messiness, but to show that these moments are real, and that if you experience them and want to quit, there is nothing wrong with you.

A community surrounding and validating Motherhood is necessary!  As a stay-at-home Mom I hear so often that it will be just a few years before I can go back to work and do something meaningful.  As if what I’m doing now isn’t meaningful.  I’m reaching souls for eternity!   I pray that as my children grow I may reach out to young mothers and give them support as they disciple their little ones.  Now, that’s important work.

When the Lord placed this vision on my heart, wouldn’t you know, a book called Desperate was being published.  It was written for me.  And you.  The Lord heard our cries for help!

Wont you join me in a No More Desperate Moms movement?  I’ll be reading the book and leading a group of women as we navigate our way through the trenches.

*Disclaimer:  This may come across as a complaint or a cry for help, but it’s not.  I’m secure in my identity in Jesus and am full of joy.  Some days still reek of struggle, but I experience far more days of joy than suffering.  This wasn’t always so, and I want to share with Moms the importance of true, biblical community and encourage them that there is light at the end of the tunnel.

3 Responses to “Desperate Mom”

  1. teamjas January 9, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Reblogged this on teamjas's Blog.

  2. Leah January 23, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Becca, I love your questions! I’ve always loved your questions, somehow you know what to ask. Who is teaching you how to parent your little ones? Yes, your parents raised you, but you need to be taught on a daily basis. Love it, I’m going to see about getting that book.

    • Mike and Becca January 24, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

      Thanks for the sweet words, Leah. I would highly recommend the book. It’s not just for Desperate moms, but a good book for all moms wanting to do the job well.

Leave a Reply

