A Peaceful Christmas

27 Nov

I just read a good blog post on Christmas Traditions.  Christmastime is a time of compassion, celebration, and anticipation of our Lord’s coming birth.  It should not be a time of overwhelming frenzy.  The article asked “does this tradition bring us life or stress?” 

I used to love being in the mall at Christmastime.  The malls are decorated and are playing Christmas tunes while people are drinking their peppermint mochas while thoughtfully picking out presents for their loved ones.  But in the midst of all that Christmas Spirit is frenzy.  Does this tradition bring me life or stress?

Christmas shopping has been simple this year.  Most gifts we are giving to family are life-giving gifts.  They breathe life into marriages and into the lives of others.  These have been the favorite gifts we’ve given.

While looking at my list of traditions I’d like to start/keep I’ve decided to stay away from Pinterest.  My family has already voiced that they would rather have a peaceful mom rather than peppermint-scented playdough, a homemade yule-log, a hand-made advent calendar, and many other ideas making me believe that I’m less of a mother because I don’t have the time and resources to do.

This Christmas I’m asking myself will this bring me life or stress?

2 Responses to “A Peaceful Christmas”

  1. stephanie freeman November 27, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    i love looking at stuff on pinterest, but with the insanity of completing my first semester of graduate school i’m only looking unless i’m actually giving it to someone as a present. thats actually a lesson i learned from watching my mom stress about thanksgiving. the smaller the menu got the more enjoyable the experience was for everyone.

    • Mike and Becca December 20, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      That’s so true! This Christmas has been my favorite so far because it’s so simple and true.

Leave a Reply

