A Man who lays down his life for his wife

27 May

Mike and I are frequently studying the Scriptures regarding marriage and it seems the Lord has a word for us in Ephesians 5.   Our first small group as a married couple read Love & Respect (I can’t really recommend this book), then we studied the book of Ephesians.  Our current house church just completed a study on marriage being the bulidng blocks of the church, and our pastor is currently preaching through Ephesians.  As George, our pastor at Twin Cities Church, preached on Ephesians 5:25-30 last weekend, I grasped what a biblical man the Lord has given me as my husband.  Mike has grown tremendously in his role as husband, father, and as a man.

Mike has accomplished more in the realm of biblical manhood at the age of 30 than many “men” have by the time they reach retirement.  He is a real man in that he loves me the way Christ loved the church.  Mike lays down his life for me as his wife and for his family.

When I met Mike 9 years ago he was passionate about fishing, hunting, and the outdoors.  In fact, one of our first dates was to the Boundary Waters on a canoe trip.  Since becoming a husband and father Mike has gone fishing a handful of times and only hunts a couple times a year.  I would go so far as to say that he’s given up his love for fishing as evidenced by selling his fishing boat.  A man’s passions change.  Mike is far more passionate about meeting his family’s needs and desires than he is about fishing.  I trust that the Lord will honor his sacrifice and reward him with many fishing trips once our children are older.

As a husband Mike protects me, defends me, and builds me up  He assures me that I have what I need, and if I don’t have it he provides it. He encourages me in my relationship with the Lord.  Mike knows my desires because he’s taken the time to know my heart.  He treats me with honor and lives with me in an understanding way.

I celebrate this day as the day the Lord gave me the greatest gift.  Next to my salvation through Jesus, Mike is the best thing that happened to me.  I am proud to be his wife and to create a godly heritage with him.

I married a great man

Happy 30th Birthday Mike!

2 Responses to “A Man who lays down his life for his wife”

  1. Cindie Goodpaster. June 5, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Yes, Becca You are one lucky lady. Some people just don’t get it. I really hope that Mikes brother grows up the same way.

    • Mike and Becca June 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      Yes, I certainly am lucky! God’s definitely been at work in our marriage. I trust that Drew will equally be blessed in his marriage if he keeps Christ at the center.

Leave a Reply

