A conversation with Hazel: Preschool

13 Sep

1st Day of Preschool!

Today was Hazel’s first day of preschool.  I woke up extra early this morning so nervous for her.  It’s a little chilly outside today, what will she wear?  Will she need to take off her shoes to use the potty like she does at home?  Will she get left out of activities because she’s smaller than the other kids?   Oh, the worries of a mother.

We got to school on time, picked her up on time (being on time is a large feat for our family), and she seemingly had a great time.  On the way home I asked her about her day.  It went something like this:

Mom:  How was school today?  Did you have so much fun?!

Hazel: Yeah, I did.

Mom:  Oh, I’m so glad you had fun.  Tell me, what did you do?

Hazel:  I played.

Mom:  Great, what did you play with?

Hazel:  Toys.

Mom:  Oh.  Toys are fun.

Hazel:  Yeah, they are.

Mom:  Well, did you meet some friends?  Who did you play with?

Hazel:  Friends

After a few more minutes of conversation like this she opened up a lot and told me all about her day.  I can’t tell you how much my heart just swelled as she was talking to me and I could just watch the excitement in her eyes.  This is going to be a fun year!

Jumping right in and playing!

 

Oh, and she was dressed perfectly, yes, she did have to take her shoes off to use the potty, and she definitely was not left out of activities (how did I ever think that!). 

Leave a Reply

