Enjoying my Children

12 Aug

Old women are always telling me to enjoy my children because they grow up so fast.  Hello, I have an almost three year old.  Where did that time go?  I have been praying  to really grasp that simple fact that they wont always be little.  When Hazel’s 16 I don’t want to wonder why I always was so busy with cleaning, laundry, or even making dinner.  When Ambrose is 16 I don’t want to wonder why I didn’t spend more time reading to him, playing cars, or being silly.

Sometimes it is really hard to put down the housework and just spend a few minutes with my kids.  But that’s exactly what I need to do.  `

Don’t get me wrong, I like a clean, organized house and food on the table.  After all, it is my job to manage the household.  But I love my kids.  I want them to know they are important in my eyes.

Right now I’m aiming to dedicate at least half an hour each morning with Hazel while Ambrose is napping.   Only a half an hour?  Of course I spend more time with her every day–but it’s always doing something I want to.  We cook together, fold laundry, we spend time at the grocery store or weeding the garden, but it’s usually something of my choosing.  During Hazel’s half hour we do something she wants to.  Today she chose to play with flashcards.  Other days it might be playing outside, reading a book, or even watching a movie.  When she chooses to watch a movie during our time together  it’s tempting to get up and get some work done while she’s occupied, but then I wouldn’t be spending time with her.  I treasure our time together and it’s really helping me to see what a gentle heart she has.

Watching a storm together. I'm so glad she chose to do this because it's one of my favorites!

My one-on-one time with Ambrose comes after his afternoon nap while Hazel is still napping.  No, he doesn’t choose what we do together, but he still gets play time.  Today he climbed up the stairs several times, and I just reveled in his excitement and pride.

Ambrose is learning to walk behind his scooter.

I know our schedule wont always afford a dedicated thirty minutes to each child daily, so that’s why it’s so important to do it now.

2 Responses to “Enjoying my Children”

  1. Shannon August 14, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    This is a perfect idea, Becca! I learned about this kind of play in one of my seminars. The called it “Special Play.” Where playtime is dedicated to one child only and for that amount of time, the child is given the opportunity to direct the adult’s actions in play. It’s great bonding and it gives the child a sense of ownership, teaches them leadership skills in a safe environment. You are a very dedicated mother, who pours her love into her children.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Being Intentional this Summer « Dodd Road - August 12, 2011

    […] Enjoying my children […]

Leave a Reply

