There’s a TV in our House!

11 Sep

Thursday night we pulled out our new 24″ TV to watch the kickoff to the NFL season.  It felt weird to have a TV in our house again.

In April we decided to send our much larger TV packing.  Several factors led to this decision to go without a television.  The TV took up too much of our precious commodity called space, Hazel knew how to plug it in and turn it on, and we simply wasted time watching pointless shows.

So we went the summer without a TV.  It was blissful.  Mike and I spent time playing games together in the evening, we were able to get up in the morning and read our Bibles instead of watching The Today Show, and Hazel played instead of staring blankly at PBS shows or Little People videos.  Getting rid of our TV resulted in a tighter-knit family.  Mike and I were able to stay informed on current events through Google News and NPR, and we still watched the occasional movie or sermon on our laptop–so it wasn’t a total media ban.

Back to Thursday night.  We put the babe to bed and turned on the boob tube.  Something felt slightly exhilarating about watching TV once again, but also devious in some way–like we were cheating.  After a few minutes of watching commercials and network ads we were quickly reminded of why it was so freeing to not have a TV.  Without a TV we didn’t just plop on the couch and watch whatever was on, only to find we wasted another evening and our marriage was not stronger for it.    We began to think more biblically instead of what is culturally normal.  Without commercials we actually found ourselves in wanting less (and spending less too).

Having a TV is not bad.  We like our new little TV.  However, after this summer we found that we need to be constantly filling our minds with what is good and with what is true (Pastor Cor did a great sermon on this back in June).  Network TV and commercials rarely offer either.  In his letter to the Romans, Paul tells the church not to conform to this world, but to be transformed by the renewal of our minds (Romans 12:2).  For now our little TV will stay in the closet until Football Sundays.

2 Responses to “There’s a TV in our House!”

  1. Kelley September 24, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Hi, Becca. Thank you for stopping by Kelley Highway earlier today.

    I’ve been reading through some of your blog posts. First of all, I want to say how happy I am for your baby on the way!

    Next, I would like to offer how sorry I am about your miscarriages. I learned a lot from your post about how to respond to someone during loss. I love the plant idea and bearing one another’s burdens. I guess the thing I like to offer is this, “I am so sorry for your loss.” It’s not difficult for me to weep with those who weep, and I consider this a talent. Hopefully I’m also a listening ear. If I knew an individual who has passed away, I also try to share a memorable story or experience I have.

    And finally, we live without TV, too. I agree: It’s blissful!

    We just left Green Bay country (see my “MinneSOOta Memories” post today); beautiful country, although we think y’all talk funny up there. *grin* Have a blessed day!

    • Mike and Becca October 9, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      I agree, “I’m sorry” is definitely the best thing to say to someone grieving.

      I love that you just visited our home turf. It really is beautiful, isn’t it? I love the upper midwest!

Leave a Reply

