Feelings for Fall

9 Sep

I am definitely the odd man out this time every year.  I feel ashamed every time I say it.   I really don’t like fall.

Yeah, the weather is cooler, the leaves are changing, kids are back in school, football is on TV again, it’s harvest season, and it’s time to pull out that ultra-comfy sweatshirt.  I understand the appeal of fall, but I simply can’t shake that pit-in-my-stomach feeling–maybe it’s the gray skies or the bone-chilling rain.

Most people who dislike fall don’t enjoy it because it means winter is coming.  I don’t enjoy fall because I can’t let go of summer.  I miss hot days under the sprinkler, the sunshine, flip flops, having the windows open, bronzed skin, and watching my little Blondie run barefoot outside!  I really did have a great summer.

I know I have much to look forward to this fall, and I sincerely want to enjoy it.  I was asking Mike last night what I can do to enjoy fall.  A comfy sweatshirt should help.  I’ve been searching for a good while now for hot cocoa without trans-fat or massive amounts of sugar–any suggestions?  What do you do to enjoy fall?

2 Responses to “Feelings for Fall”

  1. Johanne September 10, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Lets see- I make chili and potato soup! Yes, it is very sad that what I enjoy most about fall is food, but I cannot help it! I also like taking walks outside with lots of warm clothing and feeling the cold air on my face! Oh, and of course, I love love love mulled cider. Putting apple cider in a crock pot with mulling spices not only tastes delicious, it makes your house smell wonderful! Love you all!

    • Mike and Becca October 9, 2010 at 10:43 am #

      Oooh, I found a great hot cocoa…finally! It’s Trader Joe’s Conacado Organic Fair Trade Cocoa. At $5.99 for 12 oz, it’s a little pricier than Swiss Miss but definitely a lot tastier.

      Although on 87 days in October I wont be drinking much hot cocoa.

Leave a Reply

